Deze website maakt gebruik van cookies. Klik hier voor meer informatie.X sluit
Uitgebreid zoeken
Boek

Folk

Folk - Gilbert, Zoe - ISBN: 9781408884393
Prijs: € 19,20
Levertijd: 1 tot 3 werkdagen
Bindwijze: Boek, Gebonden
Genre: Literaire fictie
Boekenliefde.nl:
Folk op boekenliefde.nl
Add to cart

Beschrijving

From the winner of the 2014 Costa Short Story Award, comes a magical and haunting debut novel that beautifully blends the earthly with the fantastic. Will appeal to fans of Angela Carter, Sarah Perry and Tim Burton

Details

Titel: Folk
auteur: Gilbert, Zoe
Mediatype: Boek
Bindwijze: Gebonden
Taal: Engels
Aantal pagina's: 256
Uitgever: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc
NUR: Literaire fictie
Afmetingen: 145 x 223 x 27
Gewicht: 386 gr
ISBN/ISBN13: 9781408884393
Intern nummer: 39253827

Recensie

A captivating, magical and haunting debut novel of breathtaking imagination, from the winner of the 2014 Costa Short Story Award
The remote island village of Neverness is a world far from our time and place.
The air hangs rich with the coconut-scent of gorse and the salty bite of the sea. Harsh winds scour the rocky coastline. The villagers' lives are inseparable from nature and its enchantments.
Verlyn Webbe, born with a wing for an arm, unfurls his feathers in defiance of past shame; Plum is snatched by a water bull and dragged to his lair; little Crab Skerry takes his first run through the gorse-maze; Madden sleepwalks through violent storms, haunted by horses and her father's wishes.
As the tales of this island community interweave over the course of a generation, their earthy desires, resentments, idle gossip and painful losses create a staggeringly original world. Crackling with echoes of ancient folklore, but entirely, wonderfully, her own, Zoe Gilbert's Folk is a dark, beautiful and intoxicating debut.

Winkelvoorraad

Dit product is aanwezig in de volgende vestigingen