Deze website maakt gebruik van cookies. Klik hier voor meer informatie.X sluit
Uitgebreid zoeken
Boek

Immortalists

Immortalists - Benjamin, Chloe - ISBN: 9780525538820
Prijs: € 16,65
Levertijd: 3 tot 4 werkdagen
Bindwijze: Boek, Paperback
Genre: Fictie overig
Boekenliefde.nl:
Immortalists op boekenliefde.nl
Add to cart

Beschrijving

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A captivating family saga."-The New York Times Book Review

"You won't be able to put it down."-The Skimm (Skimm Reads Pick)

"This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt."-People Magazine (Book of the Week)

"A sprawling, enchanting family saga."-Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)

A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a "great new talent."

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?

It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children-four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness-sneak out to hear their fortunes.

The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

Details

Titel: Immortalists
auteur: Benjamin, Chloe
Mediatype: Boek
Bindwijze: Paperback
Taal: Engels
Aantal pagina's: 352
Uitgever: Penguin Publishing Group
NUR: Fictie overig
Afmetingen: 137 x 203 x 21
Gewicht: 350 gr
ISBN/ISBN13: 9780525538820
Intern nummer: 41889949

Recensie

t's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children-four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness-sneak out to hear their fortunes.

The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

Winkelvoorraad

Dit product is op dit moment niet op voorraad in een van onze vestigingen.